Event Reports


June 6th, 2018.

2018 Nora-MX Quad Championship, Round 5, Pontrilas Moto Park, nr Hereford.
Sunday 3rd June 2018.

A strong British entry of quad riders (see separate report) joined the Nora-MX club championship to give a large entry of riders at sunny Pontrilas last weekend.

Novice class; Luke Brown and Amy Keitch

On the Masters front, the two ‘maximum’ men, Ed Davies (A's) and Geoff Otway (B's) continued with their 100 per cent winning starts to the season with three straight wins each. Both looked in control of their classes, although Davies was pushed hard by Jonathan McKnight until the half way stage in all three motos. Otway was equally dominant, but he did let a holeshot get away when Matthew Kirk pipped him to the first turn in race two.

The three newcomers to the 250cc class continued to out-perform the pre-season favourites, with Jack Young posting two wins and a second to take the overall on the day, whilst Robbie Wood was next best in second overall (2,1,3) and a full house of holeshots. There was just over a second separating Young and Wood at the chequered flag in both of the first two races. Luke Berlyn grabbed third with a consistent ride (4,5,2).

100cc class; Rory Wood, Jago Jackson, Frank Marsden

Jago Jackson, looks to be storming to the title in the 100cc open class, as he made it 12 wins out of 12. All of his winning margins exceeded half a minute! Jordan Wright took the 100cc Auto class and Brodie North the 50cc class.

The Clubman/Elite class was again full with 37 entries. Zak Orchard, with better starts than previous rounds, cruised to the overall on the day with three strong race wins. His main championship rival, Ayrton Knowles was far from giving up the chase though with a 2-3-3 to take second overall. Samuel Jeffrey had a good ride for third overall (5,2,2). This group could well go to the wire at the end of the season!

Clubman winner, 16-year-old Zac Orchard

The final Nora maximum man, Harry Koller of the Novice class, was not at this event and Ryan Hickman wasted no opportunity to take advantage of the situation. He took all three race wins and his first overall of the season. Hickman had comfortable wins in all three races, each time over William Dunlop in second. His smallest winning margin was 9.8 seconds in the opening race.

Overall results:
Masters "A": 1. Ed Davies, 2. Jonathan McKnight, 3. Chris Keitch
Masters "B": 1. Geoff Otway, 2. David Marriott, 3. Clive Cooper
Novice: 1. Ryan Hickman, 2. William Dunlop, 3. Richard Paynter

Vassna Wilcox #222, Dylan Evans #22

Clubman/Elite overall: 1. Zak Orchard, 2. Ayrton Knowles, 3. Samuel Jeffrey
250ccl: 1. Jack Young, 2. Robbie Wood, 3. Luke Berlyn
100: 1. Jago Jackson, 2. Alfie North, 3. Rory Wood

Round 3 of the Nora-MX Quad Championship will run alongside the British QX Championship and British Sidecars on Sunday the 1st of July at Foxhills, Swindon. No novices or 100cc class riders at this one.

Stephen Claro #97, Joe Jukes #22

Images: John Cook
Words: Pete Chell