Event Reports


May 22nd, 2017.

2017 Nora-MX Quad Championship, Round 4, Landrake, Saltash, Cornwall. Sunday 21st May 2017.

Nora-MX hosted its most challenging event so far this year when it went the long way down to the south west of the country.

Thanks to the hard efforts of all concerned, the Landrake track was in impeccable condition and was poised to be the perfect venue, then the heavens opened …

More than a month’s worth of rain fell on Saturday and the organisers threw everything into damage limitation with repeated track repairs, before leaving the sun to do its ‘natural’ job.

In the highly entertaining 250cc class, George Oliver recorded his first overall win of the season with a second, and two good wins. Shelley Smart made her presence known with two fine holeshots, one of which saw her, and fellow boy-beating racer, Catrin Davies lead all of the lads in the early stages. The Clubman Elite went Iestyn Rowlands way, having recovered from an ‘off’ in race one whilst leading. He wrapped up the win on the day; his second overall with a fifth and two firsts.

Rick Jones gave a holeshot master class in the Masters Support class; he posted three of them! He used this as a platform to get his best results of the season in second place behind Mark Smith.

Another triple holeshot hero was Michael Haydon. He came away with not one, but three pairs of Rip ‘n’ Roll goggles for his work. Unfortunately for Haydon, his blistering starts were not enough to get anywhere near the dominant Scott Berlyn in this class.

Ed Davies returned to top form in the Masters “A” class with three holeshots and three straight wins.

Mister one-hundred-percent Luke Berlyn continued his dominance of the 100cc group, with another three wins to keep his record intact. His closest rival was Robbie Wood with three second place finishes.

Clubman Elite
1. Iestyn Rowlands (5,1,1)
2. Rhydian Owen (3,2,2)
3. Greg Thynne (5,3,2)

Clubman sub class winner: Harry Carmichael

Masters “A”
1. Ed Davies (1,1,1)
2. Jonathan McKnight (2,2,3)
3. Greg Fisher (5,3,2)

Experts Support
1. Tom Day (1,1,1)
2. Jack Norris (3,2,4)
3. Jordan Hickman (4,5,2)

Out the Box
1. Joe Williams (1,1,2)
2. Matt Burroughs (2,2,1)
3. Pete Bates (4,3,3)

1. George Oliver (2,1,1)
2. Zak Orchard (3,2,2)
3. Catrin Davies (1,4,4)

250cc Standard class winner: Jack Evans

Adult Novices
1. Scott Berlyn (1,1,1)
2. Georgia Lent (2,4,5)
3. Ross Holmes (7,3,3)

Masters Support
1. Mark Smith (2,2,2)
2. Rick Jones (3,1,4)
3. Geoff Otway (1,8,1)

100cc Overall
1. Luke Berlyn (1,1,1)
2. Robbie Wood (2,2,2)
3. Tom Bainbridge (4,4,4)

100cc Subclass winner: Frank Marston

Clubman Elite
1. Greg Thynne, 353 points
2. Iestyn Rowlands, 349 points
3. Rhydian Owen, 332 points

1. Harry Carmichael, 349 points
2. Sonney Ward, 298 points
3. Daniel Andrew Jones, 278 points

Masters ‘A’
1. Edward Davies, 393 points
2. Ben Morgan, 321 points
3. Greg Fisher, 318 points

Experts Support
1. Davino Bruneel, 194 points
2. Tom Day, 172 points
3. Jack Norris, 169 points

Out the Box
1. Matt Burroghs, 351 points
2. Pete Bates, 348 points
3. Danny Spencer, 348 points

1. Zak Orchard , 352 points
2. Catrin Davies, 348 points
3. Joshua Birch, 340 points

250cc Standard
1. Dillon Stepney, 338 points
2. Myles Mott 337 points
3. Jack Evans, 311 points

Adult Novices
1. Scott Berlynn, 400 points
2. Joe Sharp, 311 points
3. Georgia Lent, 307 points

Masters Support
1. Mark Smith, 336 points
2. Geoff Otway, 335 points
3. Rick Jones, 317 points

1. Luke Berlynn, 400 points
2. Robbie Wood, 370 points
3. Roy Wood, 313 points

100cc Support
1. Kieran Marriott, 372 points
2. Frank Marston, 345 points
3. Connor Yates, 340 points

Words: Pete Chell
Images: Nikki Walker and John Cook